jump to navigation

Feeling the Call October 1, 2010

Posted by Phil Groom in Christianity, Watching and Waiting.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

A FRIEND told me she thinks she may be feeling the call to Anglican ministry. Being the bravehearted type, she asked me what I thought she should write to her vicar about it. Always ready to help a friend in need, I suggested:

Dear Vicar,

I think God has finally lost the plot and I’m hoping you’ll agree.

You see, I think God may be calling me to Anglican ministry. I mean, how bloody stupid is that? WTF does God think she’s doing, calling ME?? Is she bonkers? I know she called you but that was when she’d overdosed on coffee or something, wasn’t it?

So can you do me a favour, please, and pray about this until SHE CHANGES HER FRIGGIN’ MIND!! I know God changes her mind sometimes coz she changed her mind about destroying Nineveh, and asking me to be a vicar, well don’t you think that’s a bit worse than destroying Nineveh? Wouldn’t it make more sense to get swallowed by a FREAKIN’ WHALE than to become a vicar?

Lots of love,

Your No. 1 fan,

Lizzie

My theory is simple: the best test of a vocation is to run away from it. If you end up getting swallowed by a whale and puked up on a beach not far from where you were running away from, you can be 99% certain God was calling you. OK, so you end up with seaweed in your hair, you stink of rotting fish and your skin’s maybe a bit rough from the stomach acid, but that just adds to the authenticity when you get there. I mean, if you’re going to preach hellfire & damnation, you might as well look the part, and that’s what vicaring’s all about, isn’t it? Why else do they all wear those fancy frocks if it’s not to hide the whale stains and holes in their socks?

But for some reason she didn’t send it. Can’t work out why. What do you reckon?

PS: If you’re feeling called by God and would rather avoid the being-swallowed-by-a-whale-and-puked-up-on-a-beach routine, these sermons might help you find your way…

Comments»

1. Karita - October 1, 2010

Ha! This was pretty much my response when my mum told me she felt the call to become a Baptist minister. Sigh. She is one now. I’ll recommend some good moisturiser to counteract the stomach acid. 😉

2. Valiant for Truth - October 1, 2010

Well, if the Selectors could get their act together it would help! From all I’ve read and heard it’s very confusing – you’re too young, you’re too old, get some experience, too much experience etc etc. Good job God knows what he’s doing!

3. Feeling the Call (via Phil’s Boring Blog) « One Theological Cellist - October 1, 2010

[…] One Theological Cellist « Facebook Song Feeling the Call (via Phil’s Boring Blog) October 1, 2010 A FRIEND told me she thinks she may be feeling the call to Anglican ministry. Being the bravehearted type, she asked me what I thought she should write to her vicar about it. Always ready to help a friend in need, I suggested: Dear Vicar, I think God has finally lost the plot and I'm hoping you'll agree. You see, I think God may be calling me to Anglican ministry. I mean, how bloody stupid is that? WTF does God think she's doing, calling ME?? Is … Read More […]

4. Melanie C - October 1, 2010

Loving it Phil, I’d rate it right up there with jeremiah’s moan tones on why him and it’s certainly a letter I would have sent.
It certainly asks some deep questions and cool (frigid?) considerations on the ministry too.
;0)

5. fromthesamesky - October 2, 2010

Love it!

6. preachersa2z - October 5, 2010

The scary thing is, God DOES know what he is doing …and still calls people like me. Perhaps He enjoys a challenge?

Phil Groom - October 5, 2010

Personally I think God is certifiably insane…

7. Julie Aylward - October 9, 2010

that is certainly the line I took when God called me – took God ten years to get me to change my mind – sadly never managed to change God’s!


Just say it, you know you want to...