jump to navigation

Your Certificate of Vocation May 8, 2012

Posted by Phil Groom in Christianity, Church, Life, Theological Reflection.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback
Vocation is not a career: it is a life surrendered to God - Martyn Percy, 29/4/2012 (pdf, A4 landscape; 1.2MB)

Vocation is not a career: it is a life surrendered to God – Martyn Percy, 29/4/2012

As heard on BBC Radio 4, Sunday Worship for Vocations Sunday, 29th April 2012, from Ripon College, Cuddesdon: Called Together (transcript differs slightly from the broadcast programme, but captures the essence).

Comments»

1. stasisonline - May 8, 2012

Interesting. What does being surrendered to God, mean to you?

Phil Groom - May 8, 2012

Good question; but it’s my wife who’s in charge of vocations: I just produce the certificates 🙂

Phil Groom - May 8, 2012

More seriously, though … right now it means accepting the fact that I’m temporarily disabled with a broken ankle and God ain’t about to wave a magic wand over it to fix it; it means accepting my role as a supermarket shelf-stacker after the Christian bookshop I used to work in started redundancy proceeding against me; it means standing on the sidelines whilst others get on with what I once felt called to; and it means being willing to use the skills and abilities I have to make a bit of noise here and there, even if it earns me disapprobation in some quarters…

What does it mean to you?

2. stasisonline - May 8, 2012

Ok, and a nice certificate it is. But you seem to be dodging the question by referring to elements I didnt enquire about?

3. stasisonline - May 8, 2012

Phil, please forgive my reply which accuses you of dodging the question. I wrote it in response to your first reply, before your follow-up reply became visible to me.
Sorry to hear of your broken ankle and the redundancy also. I hope you find comfort despite these setbacks.
Are you saying that surrendering to God does not mean casting off your own desires, to live for God instead (Gal 2:20) and following all applicable guidelines as laid out in the Bible? That’s how I interpret it.

Phil Groom - May 8, 2012

No worries: I was evidently too slow with my second reply 🙂

… and no, I’m not saying that surrendering to God isn’t about casting off one’s own desires and living for God: on the contrary, that would seem to be the hardest part…

Not so sure about the “following all applicable guidelines as laid out in the Bible” bit though … the Bible requires interpretation, contextualisation, etc … so it’s not quite that simple: we have to ask which bits of the Bible are applicable today and how they apply… and as our other conversations have shown, that ain’t necessarily straightforward…

Phil Groom - May 8, 2012

Danny, I’ve emailed you. Please don’t derail this thread with comments that belong to our other conversations. Thank you.


Just say it, you know you want to...

