jump to navigation

iTunes Ping Sucks #Apple #fail October 20, 2010

Posted by Phil Groom in Music, Technology, Watching and Waiting.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Here’s why:

Ping: "You cannot like or post to Ping about an item that is not currently offered in the iTunes store"

iTunes says, "You cannot like or post to Ping about an item that is not currently offered in the iTunes store"

… to which I reply, up yours, Apple! No, it is NOT “OK” for you to tell me what I can or cannot like. The fact is, I like ATF’s Like the Power of a Jet — and all the data about the track and the album it’s from, Der Kommissar, is out there in the Gracenote database, to which you have access already built into iTunes and which you could readily integrate into Ping if you were actually interested in what your customers like instead of simply being obsessed by your own income stream (in case you’ve forgotten, you found all the track names from Gracenote for me when I ripped the CD into iTunes: thank you).

So please do yourselves and your customers a favour: if you want Ping to be a social network, stop telling us that we can only like things that you can sell. Strange but true, Mr Jobs: life is bigger than Apple’s bank balance.

Thank you for listening.

Comments»

1. David Marriott - October 20, 2010

I just don’t like the fact that I’m having another social network foisted upon me. I’m already considerably connected enough without Apple trying to tell me that I need to tell everyone else about my favourite songs.

2. Tweets that mention iTunes Ping Sucks #Apple #fail « Phil's Boring Blog -- Topsy.com - October 20, 2010

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Phil Groom, Phil Groom. Phil Groom said: iTunes Ping Sucks #Apple #fail: http://wp.me/pgrvb-jX […]

3. Pandora - October 20, 2010

Well said! I hate it so far myself. Fortunately, I think it’s going to be a flop 🙂 x

4. eric - November 1, 2010

yeah, that message killed ping for me.


Just say it, you know you want to...

