jump to navigation

A Sad Day in Cambridge: Galloway & Porter, RIP June 18, 2010

Posted by Phil Groom in Bookshop Ramblings.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Sue and I went to Cambridge today: Sue on church business, me to wander around the bookshops and drink coffee. I always enjoy poking around Cambridge’s bookshops: bit of a busman’s holiday, I suppose, but I’m an addict.

The Park & Ride features hi-tech advertising these days, with scrolling headlines from cambridge-news.co.uk: it told me that Libra Aries, one of Cambridge’s independent bookshops, is due to close on Sunday. Not an auspicious start to the day: it brought back memories of another trip to Cambridge, back in 2008, during the SPCK bookshops debacle.

I was right to read it as an omen: here’s the sight that broke my heart:

Dear Customers, Galloway & Porter is now CLOSED forever. Thank you.

Dear Customers, Galloway & Porter is now CLOSED forever. Thank you.

I loved that shop: it was more than a shop — it was an institution. There was rarely a visit to Cambridge when Sue and I didn’t leave with an armful of books from Galloway & Porter: they had a superb theological section and almost always had some gems in stock at prices we couldn’t resist.

Galloway & Porter, RIP. We miss you.

Comments»

1. guinnessgirl - June 19, 2010

Gutted. I had my first proper saturday job there and i loved it 😦 that shop was an institution. Genuinely sad to hear that news.

2. Kojiro Sassaki - June 22, 2010

Yes things are tough out there – this may be a salutary lesson for those who think bookshops have a rosy future..
Watch this space there are more to come

3. Lawrence Brown - March 14, 2011

Deeply shocked & saddened to learn of the G&P closure.Visits to Cambridge after 40 years will never quite be the same again.I live in the West Midland about 5 miles from Birmingham and I always looked forward finding something I wanted in G&P.

4. Phil Groom - March 14, 2011

If the loss of Galloway & Porter saddens you, be prepared to weep when you visit the Bookstore Boneyard


Just say it, you know you want to...

