jump to navigation

Dead Gods and Butterflies April 2, 2010

Posted by Phil Groom in Lent & Easter, Theological Reflection.
Tags: , ,
trackback

“We done ’im in,” the crowd all said,
“We nailed the bastard,
now the bastard’s dead”

Jesus, bastard of Bethlehem, dead and buried. That’s the way to deal with a god: nail the bastard. All this talk about love and peace and forgiveness: get real.

And the tears flow down my face…

Pain. Is there no end to this pain? Not my pain — I’ve had a relatively painless life; but my friends’ pain … the endless torment, the inner screams, the scars of abuse and self-harm and self-hate… and blood, so much blood…

And his blood flows down his side, drips from his feet, soaks into the ground…

But now: just a corpse, wrapped in a cloth, hustled into a tomb…

Darkness.

Is this really humanity’s hope? How old was he? About 33, they say, but he spoke like someone who’d lived a thousand years.

He was ready to die, and he did. Did he know what it would be like? Did he really know?

Empty now, a husk … a shell…

Dead. No light in his eyes, only pain…

“One of you will betray me,” he said; and I did. He washed my feet anyway, though he knew.

He washed my feet and I walked away.

Into the darkness…

Comments»

1. Margaret - April 3, 2010

Very powerful.

2. fromthesamesky - April 3, 2010

Butterflies?

Thankyou for sharing, really profound piece.

Phil Groom - April 3, 2010

Thank you. The butterflies appear later, if my rambling thoughts come together sufficiently… it’s all a bit of a mishmash inside my head…

Phil Groom - April 17, 2010
3. fromthesamesky - April 6, 2010

I look forward to it! And, mish mash or not, you are great. So … *blushes* … I’ve given you an award. 🙂 😀

It’s available for collection between the hours of (only joking), it’s on my blog. Shiny!

Phil Groom - April 6, 2010

Wow! You’ve blown me away: thanks and *megahugs*

4. fromthesamesky - April 6, 2010

🙂 you are welcome


Just say it, you know you want to...

