jump to navigation

Loony Legal Threats Over the SPCK/SSG Bookshops: One Year On July 21, 2009

Posted by Phil Groom in Bookshop Ramblings.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Where were you on July 21st 2008?

Unless it’s your birthday, it’s probably not a date that means much to you, but for me it’s a date I won’t forget in a hurry: I was on holiday, cruising the Thames in somewhat better weather than we’re having this year.

A message came in on my mobile to tell me that J Mark Brewer, an American lawyer and the then-owner of the SPCK/SSG Bookshops, was threatening me with legal action unless I took down various webpages where I and several other people had been reporting on his abuse of his staff and his mismanagement of the shops.

Interim Managers Notice - No entry to this building is permitted...

Interim Manager's Notice - "No entry to this building is permitted..."

It’s been an interesting year since but we’ve now reached the point where the tables have been well and truly turned on Mr Brewer: the Charity Commission have stepped in and seized control of the shops whilst they complete formal investigations into his misdemeanors.

So today I take the opportunity to thank everyone who has shown solidarity over the past year as I and my fellow bloggers have fought against Mr Brewer. It’s your encouragement, prayers and support that have made it possible: thank you.

Even now, however, the fight continues: staff and suppliers remain unpaid and the Charity Commission face an uphill struggle as they attempt to set things right.

Please continue to pray; and if you’d like to find out more, read on:

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Just say it, you know you want to...

