jump to navigation

Anyone for tennis? June 29, 2009

Posted by Phil Groom in Frivolity.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Anyone for tennis?Tonight, I am watching Andy Murray v/s Somebody Wawrinka at Wimbledon. By which I mean they’re at Wimbledon, not me: I’m at home, they’re on TV. For reasons that I don’t understand, they’ve got the roof closed at Wimbledon even though it’s a clear sky out there. Apparently there was a light drizzle earlier on and they panicked and now they’ve forgotten where the switch is to reopen it.

I think Andy may be winning but the score keeps changing and I really don’t understand. The BBC have got some geezer called McEnroe who keeps yattering away with obscure comments that are supposed to help us understand, but which leave me mystified: “You need a sure ball but Wawrinka’s gonna still punish it.” What does that mean?

As I write the score is

Murray: 2  4  40
Wawrinka: 1  3  40

Tennis Hunkbut by the time I hit publish it will change again. Never mind: one of ’em’s gonna win and the ref keeps calling them ‘love’ and they are both hunky chaps so I can see why. I guess he’s thirsty now coz he’s just asked for some juice.

I think I’ve worked out what’s really confusing me, though: there’s just one net in the middle instead of one at either end…

Comments»

1. The Mission Ball: A Social Media Survey « UKCBD: The Christian Bookshops Blog - July 17, 2009

[…] a complete ignoramus when it comes to anything football related (tennis, however, I understand perfectly) I thought what better way to garner feedback than via twitter and facebook? I duly tweeted: […]


Just say it, you know you want to...

