jump to navigation

I am love June 18, 2009

Posted by Phil Groom in Poetry.
trackback

They can kill me if they want to,
break my body into pieces,
they can
scatter my soul to the winds;
but you’d better not believe them
if they say I’ve been defeated:
I’ve paid more than double
for your sins
(I have paid more than double for your sins)

They can kill me
if they want to,
break my body
into pieces,
they can
scatter my soul
to the winds;
but you’d better not believe them
if they say
I’ve been defeated:
I am love:
I am coming back for you.

I am love:
I am coming back for you.

I am love:
I am coming back for you
(for you)

I am love
(more than double)
back for you
I am coming (back)
I am love
(I am) coming back
for you
for you
for you
[repeat to fade]

Comments»

1. fromthesamesky - June 18, 2009

This is brilliant Phil. I love it. 🙂 Particularly the repetition which makes it. It keeps nudging me to write …

Phil Groom - June 18, 2009

Aw, shucks *blush* — write on, sista! 🙂

2. Serial Insomniac - June 18, 2009

Wow! I love it – poetry can be so moving when it is done well, and this certainly is 🙂 Thanks for sharing!


Just say it, you know you want to...

